Freedom is not free

I write because thats all I know how. My words are my armour, my heart, my soul, my voice, my fire, my rage, my hope and my weapon. From the river to the sea, Palestine will be free.


Easy freedom is a fallacy.

We must grasp and snatch onto it with taloned claws

Hold tightly to the desperate thing.

We must fight, tooth and nail for it

We the so-called free.

Bound and crushed under the tyranny of the insatiable machine

Churning and chewing us up

Spitting us out in bland, pallid imitations of life.

I’m afraid for us

We march aimlessly towards our demise

Complicit in our mutually assured destruction

Calling out for more and more and more and more

We are chasing our own tails and screaming when we bite them.

Spitting blood,

“curse you!”

“curse you!”

We scream in almost unison

We would once cry for each other

Long ago now

Those tears have dried and we use it’s salt to rub in our wounds.

We are manged and hostile beasts

Espousing a lie we ourselves don’t believe anymore

Bed time stories

Scaring us straight

Until we wake to a world more horrifying than any nightmare we once had.

Nightmare walking.

Save for a lost child

Bearing an unpolished face to a weary sun

Who would only dream one day, to see the sea

For freedom, my friend, it is not free

Not for you and not for me.

It’s cost is greater than its cause,

Freedom for one is freedom for all.

Fight. 

And fight, and fight again

Till legs are weak and arms are lame.

Take your head and turn it straight,

Take leaps of faith and steps towards

A future that can hold us all.

My words don’t come as they once would

They slip from the corners of my eyes

And between baited breaths

How is this okay?

How is this possible?

How, how, how?

Questions to no end, with none in sight

But that fire burns

It sparks

It bubbles

It turns my stomach inside out, eating away at parts of myself

Turns my head towards the sun and screams out for you to look

And look again

We can’t afford to not,

For that’s our burden

To look, to witness, to bare it all in its naked excess

And how lucky we are that that is all.

Carry it with you wherever you may go

And soon the dawn shall break the levy

And the damned shall breach

And we the people

Shall heed the call

Freedom for one, is freedom for all.

Leave a comment